For immediate release | January 27, 2014

Sloin, Duron and McConnell win Stonewall Book Awards for Adult Literature, Non-Fiction

PHILADELPHIA—Hilary Sloin, author of “Art on Fire,” Lori Duron, author of “Raising my Rainbow,” and David McConnell, author of “American Honor Killings” are the 2014 winners of the Stonewall Book Awards, the oldest award honoring books of exceptional merit relating to the gay/lesbian/bisexual/transgender experience.

The recipients of the Stonewall Book Awards and Stonewall Honor Books in Adult Literature and Non-Fiction were announced January 26 by the Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual and Transgender Roundtable (GLBTRT) of the American Library Association (ALA), during the ALA Midwinter Meeting in Philadelphia, Jan. 24-28.

The 2014 Stonewall Book Award-Barbara Gittings Literature Award was given to “Art on Fire” written by Hilary Sloin and published by Bywater Books.

The 2014 Stonewall Book Award-Israel Fishman Non-Fiction Award was given to both “American Honor Killings: Desire and Rage among Men” written by David McConnell and published by Akashic Books and “Raising My Rainbow: Adventures in Raising a Fabulous, Gender Creative Son” written by Lori Duron and published by Broadway Books, an imprint of Crown Publishing, a division of Random House, Inc.

Three Stonewall Honor Books in Literature were named:

“A Strange and Separate People” written by Jon Marans and published by Cheslea Station Editions.

“Everything Begins and Ends at the Kentucky Club” written by Benjamin Alire Saenz and published by Cinco Puntos Press.

“The Rebellion of Miss Lucy Ann Lobdell” written by William Klaber and published by Greenleaf Book Group Press, an imprint of Greenleaf Book Group.

Two Stonewall Honor Books in Non-Fiction were named:

“A Little Gay History” written by R.B. Parkinson and published by Columbia University Press.

“Fairyland: A Memoir of my Father” written by Alysia Abbott and published by W.W. Norton and Co.

The members of the 2014 Stonewall Book Awards Committee are: Chair Peter D. Coyl, Dallas Public Library; Amanda Clay, Greenville S.C.; Ellen M. Bosman, New Mexico State University, Las Cruces, N.M.; Gina Hernandez, Santa Clarita (Calif.) Public Library; Rebecca D. Hunt, Northern Illinois University, College of Education, DeKalb, IL; Joel A. Nichols, Free Library of Philadelphia; Holly Okuhara, Weber County Library System, Ogden, Utah; David Suarez, Spartanburg County Public Libraries, Spartanburg, S.C.; Sarah Barbara Watstein, University of North Carolina, Wilmington, N.C.; Zeke White, Baltimore County Public Library, Towson, MD.; and Donald L. Yarman, Delaware (Ohio) County District Library.


The Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual and Transgender Round Table of the American Library Association is committed to serving the information needs of the gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender professional library community and the gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender information and access needs of individuals at large. GLBTRT is committed to encouraging and supporting the free and necessary access to all information, as reflected by the missions of the American Library Association and democratic institutions.

For information on the Stonewall Book Awards – Mike Morgan & Larry Romans Children’s & Young Adult Literature Award and other ALA Youth Media Awards, please visit


John L. Amundsen

Program Officer, Outreach and Communications

ALA Office for Literacy and Outreach Services

(312) 280-2140