For immediate release | January 27, 2014

Paul R. Gagne and Melissa Reilly Ellard win 2014 Carnegie Medal for 'Bink&Gollie: Two for One'

PHILADELPHIA — Paul R. Gagne and Melissa Reilly Ellard of Weston Woods Studios, Inc., producers of “Bink&Gollie: Two for One” are the 2014 recipients of the Andrew Carnegie Medal for excellence in children’s video. The award was announced today by the Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC), a division of the American Library Association (ALA), during the ALA Midwinter Meeting held Jan. 24– 28, in Philadelphia.

Established with the support of the Carnegie Corporation of New York, the Carnegie Medal honors an outstanding American video production for children released during the previous year. The award is administered by ALSC.

In three lively vignettes, Bink and Gollie visit the state fair, playing a game, participating in a talent show, and discovering their destiny. These best friends share joy and laughter, comfort and encouragement. Who knew so much adventure could be packed into a single afternoon?

From the first chapter, “Whack-a-Duck,” the stellar full cast - anchored by Kate Micucci and RikiLindhome - captures the charm of Kate DiCamillo and Alison McGhee’s original story. Music by David Mansfield evokes an old-fashioned midway, and Tony Fucile’s artwork is brilliantly brought to life by Chuck Gammage Animation.Bink and Gollie declare during the fading final scene that they want to return to the fair, and viewers will wish they could join them.

“Alrighty then,” said Bink and Carnegie Medal/Notable Children’s Videos Committee Chair Joan L. Atkinson. “The committee loved the way the film expressed the theme of friendship through gestures, colors, sound effects...and donuts.”

Members of the 2014 Carnegie Medal/Notable Children’s Videos Committee are: Chair Joan L. Atkinson, University of Alabama SLIS, Tuscaloosa,Ala.;Alan Bern, Berkeley (Calif.) Public Library; Lizabeth L. Deskins, Hilliard (Ohio) City School District; Nancy A. Eames, Toledo (Ohio) Lucas County Public Library; Caitlin Dixon Jacobson, Ketchikan (Alaska) High School Library; Susan Dove Lempke, Niles (Ill.) Public Library; Laura Lutz, Convent of the Sacred Heart, New York City; and Rachel Wood, Arlington (Va.) Public Library.

ALSC is the world’s largest organization dedicated to the support and enhancement of library service to children. With a network of more than 4,000 children’s and youth librarians, literature experts, publishers and educational faculty, ALSC is committed to creating a better future for children through libraries. To learn more about ALSC, visit their website at

For information on the Andrew Carnegie Medal and other ALA Youth Media Awards, please visit


Macey Morales

ALA Media Relations

Public Information Office (PIO)