For immediate release | January 27, 2014

'The Nazi Hunters' wins 2014 YALSA Award for Excellence in Nonfiction for Young Adults

PHILADELPHIA — “The Nazi Hunters: How a Team of Spies and Survivors Captured the World’s Most Notorious Nazi” written by Philadelphia author, Neal Bascomb, published by Arthur A. Levine Books, an imprint of Scholastic Inc., has been named the 2014 winner of the YALSA Award for Excellence in Nonfiction for Young Adults, the first national award that honors the best nonfiction books for teens. The award was presented today by the Young Adult Library Services Association (YALSA) at the American Library Association’s Midwinter Meeting, held Jan.24 – 28 in Philadelphia.

“The Nazi Hunters” tells the true story of the capture of Nazi fugitive Adolf Eichmann with rich detail and captivating suspense. Along the way, readers are inspired by the courage and determination of a cast of characters including a teenage girl, Israeli secret agents and Holocaust survivors.

“Neal Bascomb, a bestselling author for adults, brings an important moment in history to life for teen readers in a gripping and exhaustively researched narrative,” said YALSA Nonfiction Award Chair Jamison Hedin.

The YALSA Award for Excellence in Nonfiction for Young Adults honors the best nonfiction book published for young adults (ages 12-18) from November 1, 2012 through December 31, 2013. Award winners are announced annually during the ALA Midwinter Meeting’s Youth Media Awards. The awards will be presented to winner Neal Bascomb and finalists Chip Kidd, Martin W. Sandler, Tanya Lee Stone and James L. Swanson at a reception in Philadelphia on Jan. 27, from 10:30 a.m. to 12 p.m. at the Pennsylvania Convention Center, 114-Lecture Hall.

2014 YALSA Nonfiction Award finalists, which were announced in December, include: Go: A Kidd's Guide to Graphic Design,” written by Chip Kidd, published by Workman Publishing Company; “Imprisoned: The Betrayal of Japanese Americans During World War II,” written by Martin W. Sandler, published by Walker Books for Young Readers, an imprint of Bloomsbury Publishing, Inc.; “Courage Has No Color: The True Story of the Triple Nickles, America's First Black Paratroopers,” written by Tanya Lee Stone, published by Candlewick Press; and “The President Has Been Shot! The Assassination of John F. Kennedy,” written by James L. Swanson, published by Scholastic Press, an imprint of Scholastic Inc.

The full list of official nominations for the award will be available online at

Members of the 2014 YALSA Award for Excellence in Nonfiction for Young Adults award committee are: Chair Jamison Hedin, Ludlow (Mass.) High School; Kathy M. Burnette, Discovery Middle School, Granger, Ind.; Molly M. Collins, Charlotte Mecklenburg (N.C.) Library; Maria E. Gentle, Arlington (Va.) Public Library; Dorcas Hand, Annunciation Orthodox School, Houston; Sarah Holtkamp, Chicago Public Library; Sherry L. Rampey, First Baptist Church of Gaston, S.C.; Scott Robins, Toronto Public Library, Canada; Patti Tjomsland, Bureau of Education and Research (BER) Longview, Wash; and Gillian Engberg, Booklist Consultant, Chicago.

YALSA’s portfolio of book and media awards helps strengthen library services for and with teens by identifying quality, age appropriate resources for librarians and library workers to share with the teens in their communities. For more information about YALSA or for lists of recommended reading, viewing and listening, go to

For more than 50 years, YALSA has worked to build the capacity of libraries and librarians to engage, serve and empower teens. For more information about YALSA or to access national guidelines and other resources go to, or contact the YALSA office by phone, 800-545-2433, ext. 4390; or email:

For more information on the YALSA Award for Excellence in Nonfiction for Young Adults and other ALA Youth Media Awards, please visit



Macey Morales

ALA Media Relations

Public Information Office (PIO)