For immediate release | May 9, 2017

Janice Rice to deliver 2017 Jean E. Coleman Library Outreach Lecture

CHICAGO – Janice Rice, retired outreach librarian at College Library, University of Wisconsin-Madison Libraries, will deliver the 2017 Jean E. Coleman Library Outreach Lecture at the American Library Association’s (ALA) Annual Conference and Exhibition in Chicago. Presented by the ALA Office for Diversity, Literacy and Outreach Services (ODLOS), the 2017 Lecture will take place on Monday, June 26 from 8:30-10:00am in room W184 in McCormick Place West.
Rice retired from the University of Wisconsin following a distinguished 36-year career and a long record of commitment to improving diversity issues in the University of Wisconsin General Library System and the library profession through active participation in the Wisconsin Library Association, the Association of College & Research Libraries, the ALA Ethnic and Multicultural Information Exchange Round Table and the American Indian Library Association.
For her efforts, Rice has received several awards, including the UW-Madison and UW-System Outstanding Woman of Color in Education Award in 2009 and the Distinguished Service Award from the American Indian Library Association in 2012.
“Janice’s career embodies the core values and aspirations of our profession,” said Lessa Kanani’opua Pelayo-Lozada, Chair of the ODLOS Advisory Committee, which extended the invitation to Ms. Rice. “Her hard work helped to make libraries and librarianship more equitable and accessible for all.”
The lecture series honors Dr. Jean E. Coleman, the first director of the ALA Office for Literacy and Outreach Services (now the Office for Diversity, Literacy, and Outreach Services) for her leadership in focusing the Association's attention on issues affecting traditionally underserved and underrepresented people in libraries.

For more information, please visit

The Jean E. Coleman Library Outreach Lecture is open to all attendees of ALA Annual Conference and is coordinated by the ODLOS Advisory Committee: Lessa Kanani’opua Pelayo-Lozada, Chair; Elissia Buell, Jane Cronkhite, Heidi Daniel, Ryan Deery, Martin L. Garnar, Martha Goddard, Susan Hess, Mimi Lee, Ann Plazek, Omar Poler, Kerri Rosalia, Dr. Lian Ruan, Vikki Terrile, Kelvin Watson, Gwendolyn Weaver, Dr. Julie Ann Winklestein, Mary Beth Lock, Megan Drake, Amy Laughlin, Kate Rojas, Dr. Leslie Campbell Hime and Sharon Tani.


John L. Amundsen

Program Officer, Outreach and Communications

ALA Office for Diversity, Literacy & Outreach Services

(312) 280-2140