For immediate release | January 22, 2024

‘The Collectors: Stories’ wins 2024 Printz Award

BALTIMORE — “The Collectors: Stories,” edited by A.S. King, written by the author and nine others and published by Dutton, an imprint of Penguin Random House, has won the 2024 Michael L. Printz Award for Excellence in Young Adult Literature. The award was announced today by the Young Adult Library Services Association (YALSA), a division of the American Library Association (ALA), during the ALA’s LibLearnX: The Library Learning Experience held Jan. 19–22 in Baltimore.

A.S. King challenged nine of her favorite YA writers to produce stories about collections and collectors, tossing out conventions. King’s directive to “collect all the little pieces of you and make your story” produces a distinctly unique and exemplary anthology of short stories that are “defiantly creative” and beautifully weird.

In addition to King herself, contributors to the anthology included M.T. Anderson, e.E. Charlton-Trujillo, David Levithan, Cory McCarthy, Anna-Marie McLemore, G. Neri, Jason Reynolds, Randy Ribay and Jenny Torres Sanchez.

“This collection of 10 expertly crafted—and uniquely weird—short stories for teens highlights that only when we break conventions can we discover our authentic selves,” said Printz Committee Chair Courtney Waters.

Four Printz Honor Books also were named.

“Fire from the Sky,” written by Moa Backe Åstot, translated by Eva Apelqvist and published by Em Querido, an imprint of Levine Querido.

A member of the Sámi people in Sweden, Ánte wants to preserve his birthright of traditional reindeer herding. However, he worries his emerging romantic feelings for his best friend, Erik, put him at irreconcilable odds with his community and culture. Stark, atmospheric prose invokes an introspective look into individuality within community.

“Gather,” written by Kenneth M. Cadow and published by Candlewick Press.

After an enormous dog arrives on his family’s land in rural Vermont, a devastating series of events forces Ian to learn to survive not only on his own but with the help of his community. Told in a distinctive voice with a nod to oral storytelling, “Gather” captures the spirit of independence, resilience and hope.

“The Girl I Am, Was, and Never Will Be: A Speculative Memoir of Transracial Adoption,” written by Shannon Gibney and published by Dutton Books, an imprint of Penguin Random House.

In a speculative memoir, Gibney explores her past as a transracial adoptee and imagines a life where her birth mother raised her. Playing with genre and style, Gibney deftly captures the uncertainty and questioning nature of childhood as well as all the pathways life might take.

“Salt the Water,” written by Candice Iloh and published by Dutton Books, an imprint of Penguin Random House.

After a confrontation with a teacher and a devastating family emergency, Cerulean's life veers out of their control, forcing them to make a difficult choice. Told in powerful, stream-of-consciousness verse, Cerulean explores a future that’s theirs alone, where they don’t have to play by anyone else’s rules.

The award, first given in 2000, is named for the late Michael L. Printz, a Topeka, Kansas, school librarian known for discovering and promoting quality books for young adults. The award is administered annually by YALSA and is sponsored by Booklist magazine.

Members of the 2024 Printz Award Committee are: Chair Courtney Waters, Missouri River Regional Library, Jefferson City, Missouri; Heather Love Beverley, Cook Memorial Public Library District, Libertyville, Illinois; Leanna Chappell, Swanton Public Library, Ohio; Jamie M. Gregory, Christ Church Episcopal School, Greenville, South Carolina; Abby Harrison, Greenhill School, Dallas; Alicia Kalan, The Northwest School, Seattle; Maryanne Olson, Queens Public Library, Glendale, New York; Cathy Outten, California State University, Long Beach; and Becky Reiser, REACH Prep, Stamford, Connecticut.

The mission of the YALSA is to support library staff in alleviating the challenges teens face and in putting all teens—especially those with the greatest needs—on the path to successful and fulfilling lives. For more information about YALSA or to access national guidelines and other resources, go to or contact the YALSA office via email:

For more information on the Michael L. Printz Award and other ALA Youth Media Awards, please visit

About the American Library Association

The American Library Association (ALA) is the foremost national organization providing resources to inspire library and information professionals to transform their communities through essential programs and services. For more than 140 years, the ALA has been the trusted voice for academic, public, school, government, and special libraries, advocating for the profession and the library's role in enhancing learning and ensuring access to information for all. For more information, visit

# # #


ALA Media Relations

Communications, Marketing & Media Relations Office

American Library Association