For immediate release | June 7, 2011

Feminist Task Force celebrates 2011 Amelia Bloomer List

CHICAGO – The Feminist Task Force of the Social Responsibilities Round Table (SRRT) of the American Library Association will mark 10 years of celebrating the feminist perspective in books intended for young readers from birth to 18 years old at the the 2011 Amelia Bloomer Project Breakfast from 8 - 10 a.m .on Sunday, June 26, in the LaFourche room at the Loews New Orleans Hotel.

Since 2002, the Amelia Bloomer List has recognized well-written and illustrated books with significant feminist content, intended for young readers from birth to 18 years old. Titles on the Amelia Bloomer List feature women solving problems, gaining personal power and empowering others.

This year’s Amelia Bloomer Project Breakfast will include a discussion of children’s literature through the lens of feminism and features 2011 Amelia Bloomer List authors and illustrators, including Olga Cossi (“Pemba Sherpa,” Odyssey Books, 2009), Margarita Engle (“The Firefly Letters: A Suffragette’s Journey to Cuba,” Henry Holt and Co., 2010), and Jan Godown Annino and Lisa Desimini, (“She Sang Promise: The Story of Betty Mae Jumper, Seminole Tribal Leader,” National Geographic Children’s Books, 2010).

Tickets are $35 and include breakfast. To register, visit Registration code: ALA5.

Named for Amelia Bloomer, a pioneering 19th century newspaper editor, feminist thinker, public speaker and suffragist, the list notes books about girls and women that spur the imagination while confronting traditional female stereotypes.

The Amelia Bloomer List bibliography is intended to aid children and teens in selecting high-quality books released over the past 18 months and may be used for a recommended reading list for youth and those who interact with them and as a collection development or reader’s advisory tool for interested librarians.

The Amelia Bloomer Project committee members include Angela Semifero, Marshall District Library (Mich.); April Witteveen, Deschutes Public Library (Ore.); Beth Olshewsky, co-chair, Tulare County Office of Education (Calif.); Jennie Law, Dekalb County Public Library (Ga.); Joy Worland, Joslin Memorial Library (Vt.); Lalitha Nataraj , Escondido Public Library (Calif.); Linda Parsons, Ohio State University (Ohio); Maureen McCoy, co-chair, Brooklyn Public Library (N.Y.); and committee alternate Kelly Rottmund, Sewickley Public Library of the Quaker Valley School District (Pa.).

SRRT is a unit within the American Library Association. It works to make ALA more democratic and to establish progressive priorities not only for the Association, but also for the entire profession. Concern for human and economic rights was an important element in the founding of SRRT and remains an urgent concern today. SRRT believes that libraries and librarians must recognize and help solve social problems and inequities in order to carry out their mandate to work for the common good and bolster democracy. SRRT's main Web site is hostedat