For immediate release | June 2, 2011

ALSC announces winners of Bound to Stay Bound Books, Melcher Scholarships

CHICAGO - The Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC) announced six scholarship winners for the 2011-2012 academic year.

Four winners were awarded the Bound to Stay Bound Books Scholarship, which is made possible by Bound to Stay Bound Books, Inc. All four recipients will receive $7,000 in scholarship aid for the 2011-12 academic year. The four recipients are: Nancy Graves, Denton, Texas; Danielle Gregori, Elmont, N.Y.; Rachel Ortiz, Washington, D.C.; and Robyn Woods, Saint Cloud, Fla.

Two winners were awarded the Frederic G. Melcher Scholarship, which is made possible by contributions from librarians, professionals and others associated with the field of children’s literature. This award is worth $6,000 in scholarship aid. The two recipients are: Patricia Prodanich, La Grange Park, Ill.; and Donna Hanley, Saint Johns, Ariz.

“The committee was extremely impressed by the caliber of candidates this year,” said ALSC Scholarship Committee chair Ellen Rix Spring. “We feel like we chose six excellent students who will represent ALSC well. The library profession will be in good hands with the stellar candidates chosen.”

Each year, ALSC provides the Bound to Stay Bound Books and Melcher Scholarships to help advance the profession of children’s librarianship. Recipients must complete their academic work at an ALA-accredited institution. Recipients are also expected to accept positions after graduation in the field of library service to children for at least one year.

ALSC, a division of the ALA, is the world’s largest organization dedicated to the support and enhancement of library service to children. With a network of more than 4,000 children’s and youth librarians, literature experts, publishers and educational faculty, ALSC is committed to creating a better future for children through libraries. To learn more about ALSC, visit ALSC’s website at

The 2011 ALSC Scholarship Committee includes: Lynn Piper Carpenter, Birmingham (Ala.) Public Library; Janis Cooker, Lexington Park (Md.) Library; Amanda S. Murphy, Warren-Trumbull County Public Library, Youngstown, Ohio; Karla M. Schmit, Pennslyvania State University, State College, Pa.; Ellen Rix Spring, chair, Rockland District Middle School, Rockland, Maine.


Dan Rude