For immediate release | May 24, 2011

Freedom to Read Foundation announces 2011 board of trustees election winners

CHICAGO - The Freedom to Read Foundation (FTRF) is pleased to announce the winners of its 2011 board of trustees election, held in April. Six trustees were elected to two-year terms, beginning in June: Helen Adams, Jonathan Bloom, Chris Finan, Christine Jenkins, Herbert Krug and Candace Morgan. Bloom, Jenkins and Morgan were re-elected. Adams and Krug are newly elected, and Finan, who was a trustee in 2006, is currently serving out the term of Susan Hildreth, who resigned to become director of the Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS).

These trustees will join Kent Oliver (Canton, Ohio), Judith Platt (Washington, D.C.), Carol Brey-Casiano (Washington, D.C.), Mary Minow (Cupertino, Calif.), and James G. Neal (New York) as elected board members. The American Library Association president (Molly Raphael), president-elect (Maureen Sullivan), executive director (Keith Michael Fiels) and Intellectual Freedom Committee chair (Pat Scales) serve on the board as ex-officio. Barbara Jones is the secretary of the board and executive director of the Foundation.

Biographical information on the election winners follows:

Helen Adams (Mansfield, Pa.) is an online instructor at Mansfield University School Library and Information Technologies Department.

Jonathan Bloom (New York) is counsel at Weil, Gotshal & Manges, LLP.

Chris Finan (New York) is president of the American Booksellers Foundation for Free Expression.

Christine Jenkins is an associate professor at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign in the Graduate School of Library & Information Science.

Herbert Krug (Evanston, Ill.) is a consultant at Herbert Krug and Associates.

Candace Morgan (Portland, Ore.) is a retired librarian.

The Freedom to Read Foundation was founded in 1969 to promote and defend the right of individuals to freely express ideas and to access information in libraries and elsewhere. FTRF fulfills its mission through the disbursement of grants to individuals and groups, primarily for the purpose of aiding them in litigation, and through direct participation in litigation dealing with freedom of speech and of the press.