For immediate release | April 26, 2011

Hear YA authors Bacigalupi, Christopher, King, Sedgwick and Teller at the 2011 Michael L. Printz Program and Reception

CHICAGO —American Library Association (ALA) Annual Conference attendees won’t want to miss the 2011 Michael L. Printz Award Program and Reception, sponsored by the Young Adult Library Services Association (YALSA), from 8 - 10 p.m. CDT on June 27 in New Orleans.

The Printz Award, announced in January at the Youth Media Awards, honors the best book written for teens each year. Author Paolo Bacigalupi, whose book "Ship Breaker" won this year’s award, will speak, as will honor book authors Lucy Christopher ("Stolen"), A. S. King ("Please Ignore Vera Dietz"), Marcus Sedgwick ("Revolver"), and Janne Teller ("Nothing").

At a reception following the program, attendees can mingle with authors and network with colleagues over light refreshments and a cash bar.

Tickets for the program and reception cost $29 before advanced registration closes for ALA Annual Conference on May 13. Tickets purchased after May 13 cost $35 and will be available at the door.

Advanced registration for the ALA Annual Conference ends May 13 at If you have already registered and would like to add the Printz Reception to your registration, you can do so (1) by phone: Call ALA Registration at 1 (800) 974-3084 and ask to add the Printz Reception to your existing registration; or (2) Online: Add an event to your existing registration by clicking this Annual Registration link. Use your login and password to access your existing Annual registration and add events in the “Your Events” section (screen six). Then simply check out and pay for the events you have added.

For more than 50 years, YALSA has been the world leader in selecting books, videos and audiobooks for teens. For more information about YALSA or for lists of recommended reading, viewing and listening, go to, or contact the YALSA office by phone, (800) 545-2433, ext. 4390, or e-mail,


Stephanie Kuenn