For immediate release | January 14, 2011

Feyerherm, Weston win BWI/YALSA Collection Development Grants

CHICAGO —Melanie Feyerherm , teen librarian at the Baright Public Library in Ralston, Neb., and Keri Weston, director of the Carlisle (Iowa) Public Library, won the 2011 BWI/YALSA Collection Development Grant, administered by the Young Adult Library Services Association, a division of the American Library Association (ALA).

Each receives a grant of $1,000, donated by BWI, for collection development. The grant recipient is a YALSA member who represents a public library and who works directly with young adults ages 12–18.

Feyerherm will use the grant to build the teen classics and nonfiction collection. Teen participation and feedback will have a direct impact on the new materials added to the teen area.
“The teens in our community will be absolutely thrilled to be able to access so many more great books and resources,” Feyerherm said. “Because a large part of my plans for this grant include getting input for purchases from our Teen Advisory Board and teen book clubs, I’m looking forward to hearing what they want so that we can better meet their needs and reward them for reading by offering a higher quality collection.”
Weston’s goal as a new director is to create a welcoming environment for teens that includes space, programs and materials. The majority of the grant monies will fund manga and graphic novels—of which the library currently has only three titles.
“Having $1,000 at once to spend on books just for teens is a small miracle for us,” Weston said. “This grant will give us the opportunity to quickly fill many endless requests for graphic novels and other current materials appealing to teens. The purchases we make will drastically change the collection in our teen area for the better. I could fill many pages with our thanks and still not have expressed it enough!”
The 2011 BWI/YALSA Collection Development Grant Jury members are: Chair Judy Sasges, Sno-Isle Libraries, Marysville, Wash.; Laura Amos, Dr. Clarence V. Cuffee Library, Chesapeake, Va.; Roxy Ekstrom, Schaumburg (Ill.) Township District Library; Shari Fesko, Southfield (Mich.) Public Library; and Patricia Martire, Mount Morris (N.Y.) Central School.
The application form and information for next year’s BWI/YALSA Collection Development Grant are available on the YALSA Awards and Grants website, Applications must be received in the YALSA office by Dec. 1, 2011.
For more than 50 years, YALSA has been the world leader in selecting books, videos and audiobooks for teens. For more information about YALSA or for lists of recommended reading, viewing and listening, go to, or contact the YALSA office by phone, (800) 545-2433, ext. 4390; or e-mail,


Stephanie Kuenn