For immediate release | December 7, 2010

EBSCO awards five scholarships for librarians to attend ALA Midwinter

Applicants explained how they use technology to help in challenging times

CHICAGO - In co-sponsorship with the American Library Association (ALA), EBSCO awarded five librarians $1,500 scholarships to attend the ALA Midwinter Meeting in San Diego Jan. 7-11, 2011. As part of the application process, EBSCO asked librarians to write an essay on the topic "Thinking outside the box: using technology to help in challenging times."

The five librarians who were selected as winners are David A. Brackus, librarian, Jefferies & Company, Inc., Houston, Texas; Laura O’Neill Hibbler, reference/instructional librarian, Dinand Library, College of the Holy Cross, Worcester, Mass.; Cheryl Lee, librarian, Palo Alto City Library, Palo Alto, Calif.; Sara Pope, library services specialist, Houston Public Library-Heights Neighborhood Library, Houston, Texas; and Frances Veit, youth services librarian, Buckham Memorial Library, Northfield, Minn.

The winners’ essays offer a variety of examples for enhancing libraries through the use of technology such as relying on Web conferencing tools to communicate with staff at different locations, connecting with users via social networking, developing teen readers’ advisory tools from free online software and encouraging toddlers to learn how to use computers with special keyboards that are “tough enough to be washed in the dishwasher.”

“This scholarship brings attending an ALA conference within reach when it otherwise likely wouldn't have been,” Veit says. “I work for a city where out-of-state travel is not funded, so the task of gathering vacation time, travel expenses and registration expenses for a conference is a difficult endeavor. I'm looking forward to the chance to network more broadly, see the Youth Media Awards, participate in person on the ALSC Legislative Committee and leave my down jacket in Minnesota for a few days.”

The applications were judged by a jury designated by ALA. Jury members are John J. Meier, science librarian, Pennsylvania State University, State College, Pa.; Julius C. Jefferson, Jr., information research specialist, D.C.; Elizabeth Nelson, knowledge analyst, UOP, LLC, Woodstock, Ill.; Georgie Lynn Donovan, coordinator, bibliographic services, Appalachian State University, Boone, N.C.; and Norice Lee, department head of access services, New Mexico State University, Las Cruces, N. M.

The five winning librarians will join EBSCO and ALA representatives for a breakfast honoring the scholarship recipients during the conference on Sunday, Jan. 9.

EBSCO has co-sponsored scholarships to ALA conferences for more than 15 years, awarding scholarship money to be used for conference registration, travel and expenses. EBSCO will continue with their tradition of awarding librarians again in summer 2011 at the ALA Annual Conference in New Orleans.

About ALA
The American Library Association (ALA) is a nonprofit professional organization of more than 65,000 librarians, library trustees, and other friends of libraries dedicated to providing and improving library services and promoting the public interest in a free and open information society:

Established in 1944, EBSCO is the world’s leading information agent providing consultative services and cutting-edge technology for managing and accessing quality content, including print and e-journals, e-packages, research databases, eBooks and more. Now more than ever libraries and research organizations are looking for new ways to manage their collections more efficiently. EBSCO has developed the most comprehensive “e” discovery and management solutions, offering unparalleled integration to help librarians save time and money while empowering their users.

EBSCO serves clients in more than 200 countries through our 30 offices worldwide with more than 140 librarians on staff. To learn more about EBSCO’s products and services, visit


Heather Klusendorf

Media Relations Coordinator

EBSCO Corporate Communications


Cheryl Malden

ALA Program Officer



Cheryl Malden