For immediate release | November 23, 2010

Ken Haycock Award for Promoting Librarianship

CHICAGO - ALA is seeking nominations for the Ken Haycock Award for Promoting Librarianship. The award honors an individual for contributing significantly to the public recognition and appreciation of librarianship through professional performance, teaching and/or writing.

The award includes $1,000 and a citation donated by Ken Haycock, Ph.D, former ALA board member, ALA Councilor and past-president of the Young Adult Library Services Association (YALSA).

Past recipients of the award include ALA Past-Presidents Sarah Long (2005) and Michael Gorman (2010). Other recipients include Robert Lackie (2006), Mary Dempsey (2007) and Lawrence Moore (2008).

Download the application form (RTF). The deadline for nominations is Dec. 17, 2010. Nomination forms are also available at the ALA Awards site.

For questions regarding the award, contact Liz Bishoff ( Jury chair) at or Cheryl Malden, ALA Governance Office,


Cheryl Malden