For immediate release | August 4, 2010

ALSC announces Bound to Stay Bound Books and Melcher Scholarship winners

CHICAGO - The Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC), a division of the American Library Association (ALA), has announced the 2010 recipients of the Frederic G. Melcher and Bound to Stay Bound Books Scholarships.

The scholarships are awarded annually to students who plan to enter ALA-accredited programs, obtain a master’s degree in library science and specialize in library service to children.

This year’s Bound to Stay Bound Books Scholarship winners are:

  • Leah Biado, Portland, Ore.

    A teacher in a multicultural school, Biado will study to become an elementary school librarian. She will attend Emporia State University.
  • Marsha Burrola, Tucson, Ariz.

    A grade school teacher, Burrola plans to work in a public library with children and their parents to encourage family literacy.
  • Susan Dominguez, Albuquerque, N. M.

    By serving Native American children through libraries in tribal schools, Dominguez plans to help the children increase their literacy skills. She will attend San Jose State University.
  • Alejandro Picazo, Chula Vista, Calif.

    Working in a school library, Picazo plans to encourage literacy as well as positive use of multimedia programs. He will attend San Jose State University.

Each Bound to Stay Bound Books Scholarship recipient will receive $7,000. The award is made possible through a generous contribution from Bound to Stay Bound Books, Inc., of Jacksonville, Ill.

This year’s Melcher Scholarship winners are:

  • Sarah Avant, Upper Marlboro, Md.

    While currently focusing on children and their families in her public library job, Avant will also work to strengthen partnerships with schools and community organizations. She will attend Clarion University.
  • Whitney Chamberlin, Helena, Mont.

    A public and school library volunteer since the age of 12, Chamberlin plans to become a school librarian. She will attend the University of Washington, Seattle.

Both Avant and Chamberlin will receive $6,000 from ALSC, made possible by contributions received in memory of Frederic G. Melcher.

Members of the scholarship committee were very impressed with the caliber of applicants. “Each and every recipient is quite excited to receive the scholarship and to be embarking on a career in children’s librarianship,” said Committee Chair Ellen Spring.

In addition to Spring, of the Rockland District Middle School, Rockland, Maine , committee members are: Lynn Carpenter, Birmingham Public Library, Birmingham, Ala. ; Janis Cooker, Lexington Park Library, Lexington, Md.; Karla Schmit, Pennsylvania State University/Paterno Library, University Park, Pa. ; and Theresa Schroeder, Anoka County Library, Blaine, Minn. Applications for the 2011 scholarships will be available on the ALA Web site beginning in October 2010, at , or send an e-mail to