For immediate release | June 21, 2010

Manley named 2010 David H. Clift Scholarship recipient

CHICAGO - The American Library Association (ALA) has named Laura Sue Manley of Hazel Park, Mich., the recipient of the 2010 David H. Clift Scholarship.

The David H. Clift Scholarship was named for a former director of the American Library Association. The $3,000 scholarship is awarded to a person pursuing a master's degree in library and information studies.

Manley is pursuing a career in academic librarianship. She hopes one day to earn a PhD in Information Science, and would like to “obtain employment in higher education, either helping students learn the research skills they need to be successful students, or teaching library science students how to do so.”

A Magna Cum Laude graduate of Marygrove College in Detroit (2009), Manley is a member of the Sigma Tau Delta Honor Society and a recipient of a Presidential scholarship. She is an active member of ALA’s Wayne State University Student Chapter and also of the Michigan Library Association.

Manley will be attending Wayne State University’s School of Library and Informational Science.


Kimberly Redd