2006 Hugh C. Atkinson award winner announced

Contact: Megan Bielefeld

ACRL Program Coordinator


For Immediate Release

February 12, 2006

2006 Hugh C. Atkinson award winner announced

CHICAGO — Nancy M. Cline, Roy E. Larsen Librarian of Harvard College at Harvard University, has been named the 2006 winner of the Hugh C. Atkinson Memorial Award. Cline will receive a cash award and a citation during the ALA Annual Conference in New Orleans, at the Association of College and Research Libraries (ACRL) President's Program on Monday, June 26, 2006, at 1:30 p.m.

Named in honor of one of the pioneers of library automation, the Atkinson Award recognizes an academic librarian who has made significant contributions in the area of library automation or management, and has made notable improvements in library services or research.

“Nancy Cline is an exceptional leader,” said Karen Williams, award committee chair. “She has the professional knowledge and capacity to think strategically and to help shape the future, rather than simply arrive there. She has helped to shape two premier research libraries at Harvard and Penn State, and a number of professional organizations including the Association of Research Libraries, JSTOR, the Research Libraries Group, the Association of American Colleges and Universities, and the Digital Library Federation.

“Nancy combines an innovative spirit and an understanding of the power of technology to advance knowledge, teaching, and scholarship with a deep respect for the traditional values of libraries. She has demonstrated a joyous commitment to the challenges of librarianship, a practical acumen in getting things done, and a personal kindliness and steadfastness that has won her the liking and respect of all her peers.”

Four divisions of the American Library Association jointly sponsor the Hugh C. Atkinson Award: ACRL, the Association for Library Collections and Technical Services (ALCTS), the Library Administration and Management Association (LAMA), and the Library and Information Technology Association (LITA). The award is funded from an endowment established to honor Hugh C. Atkinson.

“It is an honor to be identified by my colleagues for this award,” said Cline. “Throughout my career I have been privileged to work with so many people—in libraries, in other organizations, and in industry—who were willing to explore innovative directions and apply emerging technologies to forge stronger roles for libraries in teaching and research environments. I have especially enjoyed finding ways in which libraries can engage digital technologies and the power of information systems to provide access to the amazing legacy collections that reside in libraries and archives around the world. My hope is to inspire others in our field as Hugh Atkinson once inspired me: to think boldly, to challenge assumptions, and to not fear criticism.”

Before becoming Roy E. Larsen Librarian of Harvard College in 1996, Cline worked at The Pennsylvania State University, where she served as dean of university libraries (1988-96), assistant dean and head, bibliographic resources and services division (1984-88), chief of the bibliographic resources department (1980-84), head of the government documents section (1971-80), and Pennsylvania documents librarian (1970-71).

In 1970, Cline received her M.L.S. from the University of California Berkeley, where she also earned her B.A. in 1968.

Donations to the endowment may be sent to Megan Bielefeld, 50 East Huron St., Chicago, Ill. 60611.