2005 Miriam L. Hornback Scholarship winner named

Beatrice Calvin

Communications Specialist


For Immediate Release

July 25, 2005

2005 Miriam L. Hornback Scholarship winner named

CHICAGO - The American Library Association (ALA) has announced Sarah Rebekah Krygier of Fairfield, Calif. as the 2005 Miriam L. Hornback Scholarship winner.

The $3,000 award is given to an ALA or library support staff member to finance studies toward a master's degree in library and information studies. The scholarship was named in memory of Miriam L. Hornback, a longtime ALA staff member, who was secretariat to the ALA Council and Executive Board.

Krygier thinks it is fitting that she become a librarian because she grew up spending so much of her time in libraries—winning top prizes in each year's summer reading program at the local library.

Working as an assistant to the director of the Solano County Library, Krygier gained insight into library administration. This peaked her interest and has motivated her to want to go into library administration after she spends some time working in young adult services.

Krygier will be attending San Jose State University.