2005 David H. Clift Scholarship winner named

Beatrice Calvin

Communications Specialist


For Immediate Release

July 25, 2005

2005 David H. Clift Scholarship winner named

CHICAGO - The American Library Association (ALA) is pleased to announce Megan Eberhardt of Greely, Colo. as the 2005 winner of the David H. Clift Scholarship.

The Clift Scholarship, named for David H. Clift, a former director of ALA, provides $3,000 to individuals pursuing a master's degree in library and information studies.

While working on her master's in clinical sociology, Eberhardt worked in the reference department at the university library. This cultivated her interest in librarianship and motivated her to do her thesis on improving service quality at the library. Eberhardt says her research allowed her to combine her passion for sociology and academic libraries for the first time. It also solidified her decision to earn her master's in library and information science.

Eberhardt wants to work as a social sciences librarian in an academic environment and believes that a master's in library science combined with her master's degree in sociology will help her achieve this goal.

Eberhardt attends the University of Denver.