Forty ALA Student Chapter Members Chosen to Participate in the 2017 Student to Staff Program

Forty student members of the American Library Association (ALA) will participate in the ALA Student-to-Staff program at the 2017 ALA Annual Conference in Chicago, Ill., June 22-27.

Established in 1973, the program allows 40 students, both ALA members and members of their school's ALA student chapter, to attend and participate in an annual conference in exchange for working 16 hours for ALA staff during the conference. These students also receive free conference registration, housing, and a per diem for meals.

Students are selected and nominated by their faculty advisors. Criteria include that each student must be a current ALA member and remain so through the ALA Annual Conference, and cannot have previously participated in the program.

The students participating in the 2017 program are (in alphabetical order by last name of student):

  • Kimberly Baker; Indiana University (Ind.)
  • Stephanie Barnaby; San Jose State University (Calif.)
  • Amber Beaman; University of Oklahoma (Okla.)
  • Samantha Belmont; Louisiana State University (La.)
  • Whitney Karen Brown; St. John's University (N.Y.)
  • Norah Burns; Drexel University (Pa.)
  • Brian Cheung; University of Hawaii, Manoa (HI)
  • Colleen Cirocco; Wayne State University (Mich.)
  • Katrina Corral; Texas Woman's University (TX)
  • Jennifer Embree; University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill (N.C.)
  • Marcella Falquez; University of South Florida (Fla.)
  • Becky Fitzgerald; Syracuse University (N.Y.)
  • Jacqueline Guilford; North Carolina Central University (N.C.)
  • Audrey Gunn; University of Wisconsin-Madison (Wis.)
  • Debby Harris; Florida State University (Fla.)
  • Emily Higgs; University of Texas, Austin (TX)
  • Kelcey Hill; Clarion University (Pa.)
  • Meredith (Maisie) Iven; University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign (Ill.)
  • Andrew Johnson; University of Kentucky (Ky.)
  • Elizabeth Ann Kamper; University of Wisconsin, Milwaukee (Wis.)
  • Elizabeth Morris; Dominican University (Ill.)
  • Michelle Osborne; East Carolina University (N.C.)
  • Stephanie Osorio; University of Southern California (Calif.)
  • Katie Patterson; Emporia State University (Kan.)
  • Tara Pealer; Simmons College (Mass.)
  • Jennifer L. Putnam Davis; Valdosta State University (Ga.)
  • Charlotte Roi; University of Southern Mississippi (Miss.)
  • Rebecca Russell; University of California, Los Angeles (Calif.)
  • Broghan Sagers; University of Michigan at Ann Arbor (Mich.)
  • Erica Saito; Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey (N.J.)
  • Karen Sánchez; University of Washington iSchool (Wash.)
  • Alexandra Smith; University of Alabama (Ala.)
  • Jennie Stevens; University of Denver (Colo.)
  • Chayse Sundt; St. Catherine University (Minn.)
  • Kristen Thornton-De Stafeno; University at Albany, State University of New York (N.Y.)
  • Rebekah Walker; University of Iowa (Iowa)
  • Kara West; Northeastern State University (Okla.)
  • Katie Wibbenmeyer; University of Missouri (Mo.)
  • Tess Wilson; University of Pittsburgh (Pa.)
  • Xueye Zheng; Catholic University of America (DC)

Information about the program is sent to the schools each year before December 1. All official announcements about when the nomination has opened, how to nominate a student by survey (including the link to the survey), and when the nominations have been closed are made through, the business e-list for the student chapters (usually those subscribed to this list are the faculty advisors and student chapter presidents).

The deadline for nominating a student is between then and whenever 40 qualifying students are accepted into the program. Because only 40 students are accepted into the program, but there are 60 active student chapters, qualifying students are accepted on a first-come, first-served basis.

For information about the ALA Student-to-Staff program, contact the ALA Chapter Relations Office.