Honors & Awards

Tribute to Nancy Kandoian

The map library community lost a treasure in 2022 with the passing of former New York Public Library map librarian Nancy Kandoian. This video is a small tribute to her many contributions to the profession, to her friends, to her family, and to her community.


MAGIRT Honors Award recipients
The MAGIRT Honors Award is presented annually in recognition of outstanding achievement and major contributions to map and geospatial librarianship and to the Round Table.

2023: Nicole Kong
2022: Iris Taylor
2021: Carol McAuliffe and David Bertuca
2020: Tsering Wangyal Shawa
2019: Louise Ratliff
2018: Paige Andrew
2017: Hallie Pritchett
2016: Katherine Hart Weimer
2015: Kathy Rankin
2014: Gregory Allord
2013: Colleen Cahill and Stephen Rogers
2012: David Allen and Mary McInroy
2011: Janet Dixon (in memoriam), Christine Kollen and Scott McEathron
2010: Pete Reehling
2009: Susan Moore and Jim Coombs
2008: Nancy Kandoian
2007: Mark Thomas
2006: Fred Musto
2005: No Award
2004: David Y. Allen
2003: Dorothy McGarry
2002: Johnnie Sutherland
2001: Christopher Baruth
2000: Barbara McCorkle
1999: Patrick McGlamery
1998: Vi Moorhouse
1997: No Award
1996: Bob Karrow
1995: Dan Seldin
1994: Phil Hoehn and David Carrington
1993: HelenJane Armstrong
1992: Stanley D. Stevens
1991: Donna Koepp
1990: Alice Hudson
1989: Charley Seavey
1988: Ralph Ehrenberg
1987: Elizabeth U. Mangan
1986: David Cobb
1985: Gary North
1984: J.B. Post
1983: Mary Larsgaard

Past Awards

The Hammond/MAGERT Award
The Hammond/MAGERT Award was presented in 1986 and 1987 for the best English language paper on map librarianship. Recipients received an award certificate and a check for $300 from Hammond, Inc. Further information about the Hammond/MAGERT Award criteria can be found in base line 7(2): 33.

Hammond/MAGERT Award recipients
1987: Larry Cruse. “MIMI, the Map and Information Index to Major Microform Sets.” Microform Review 14, no.4 (1986): 224-227.

1986: Stanley D. Stevens. “Map Librarianship: Suggestions for Improvement.” Wilson Library Bulletin 60, no.2 (1985): 33-36, 79.

MAGERT 10th Anniversary Awards
Special awards in honor of MAGERT’s 10th anniversary were issued in 1990. The awards recognized those individuals who contributed to the success of MAGERT and map librarianship over the previous 10 years. Further information about these awards can be found in base line 10(5):134, 11(2):12, 11(5):5, and 11(5):11.

MAGERT 10th Anniversary Award recipients
Charlie Bennet
John Monkton
Elaine Wingate