Practical and Applied Management Committee

Community of Practice: Management & Leadership

Charge: To explore the practical and applied management challenges that are relevant to special, school, public, or academic libraries. To develop and share evidence-based practices that improve management planning and daily supervisory skills.


Ms. Nyama Yvonne Reed (Co-Chair, July 1, 2019, to June 30, 2021)
Tim Gritten (Member, July 1, 2019, to June 30, 2021)
Cinthya Ippoliti (Member, July 1, 2019, to June 30, 2021)
Ms. Heather Lowe (Member, July 1, 2019, to June 30, 2021)
Mrs. Mary Thornton Moser (Member, July 1, 2019, to June 30, 2021)
Ginger H. Williams (Member, July 1, 2019, to June 30, 2021)
Kerry Ward (Staff Liaison, July 1, 2017, to June 30, 2022)

Displaying active committee roster as of 07/01/2020. Last retrieved on 02/03/2023. Members can log in and refresh the page to view full contact information for committee members.

Our Work


  • Facilitate discussion group at Midwinter
  • Propose yearly webinar or presentation at Annual
  • Host monthly phone conversation of supervisory challenges with broader membership or interested members

Expected Time Commitment:

  • Hour-long monthly meetings
  • Additional 10-20 hours during the year to plan annual program/webinar, discussion group topic, and monthly supervisory chat
  • Members can have two unexcused absences from meetings and remain in good standing on the committee

Desired skills, knowledge, and experience:

  • Organizational skills
  • Research skills
  • Some program planning experience preferred, but not required

Staff Contact and roles:

  • Kerry Ward,, 800-5454-2433, ext. 5036. Overall management, committee charges/appointments, budget requests, etc.
  • Fred Reuland,, 800-545-2433, ext. 5032. Webinar production, program planning and scheduling, conference support, etc.

Resources available:

  • Virtual meeting support
  • Connection with New Professionals, Leadership Theory Committee (formerly Organizational Theory and Practice) and Assessment Community of Practice
  • Cmt senior chair, junior chair, secretary, program director