2008 ALA/IIDA Interior Design Awards

Winners were honored in the following categories on June 30, 2008, at the American Library Association Annual Conference in Anaheim:

Academic Libraries, 30,000 SF and Smaller
Brown University, Susan P. & Richard A. Friedman Study Center; Providence, RI
Architecture Research Office (ARO); New York, NY

Academic Libraries, Over 30,000 SF
University of California, Hastings College of Law Library; San Francisco, CA
SmithGroup; San Francisco, CA

Public Libraries, 30,000 SF and Smaller
Arabian Public Library; Scottsdale, AZ
richard + bauer; Phoenix, AZ

Public Libraries, Over 30,000 SF
Ramsey County Library; Maplewood, MN
HGA Architects and Engineers; Milwaukee, WI

Single Space
Evanston Public Library, Teen Room, The Loft; Evanston, IL
Nagle Hartray Danker Kagan McKay Penney Architects, Ltd.
architectureisfun, Inc.; Chicago, IL

Outstanding Historic Renovation Project (Historic Restoration)
New York Public Library, Lionel Pincus and Princess Firyal Map Division; New York, NY
Davis Brody Bond Aedas; New York, NY

Outstanding Historic Renovation Project (Adaptive Re-use)
Rhode Island School of Design, Fleet Library; Providence, RI
Office dA, Inc.; Boston, MA

Innovation in Sustainable Design
University of Toronto, Hazel McCallion Academic Learning Center; Mississauga, ON
Shore Tilbe Irwin & Partners; Toronto, ON

On the Boards
Prescott Valley Public Library; Prescott Valley, AZ
richard + bauer; Phoenix, AZ

Honorable Mention
Durham County Regional Library North Branch; Durham, NC
The Freelon Group Architects; Durham, NC

Honorable Mention
Phoenix Public Library, Harmon Branch; Phoenix, AZ
richard + bauer; Phoenix, AZ

Competition jurors: Joseph Rondinelli, Associate IIDA, Shepley Bulfinch; Steven McCollom, IIDA, AIA, Gary Lee Partners; Drew Harrington, University of Portland; and Kathryn Page, Page and Moris.