LITA 40th Anniversary

lita past-presidents' breakfast

LITA Past Presidents’ Breakfast, Windsor Court Hotel in New Orleans, June 26, 2006. Left to right: Mark Beatty, Walt Crawford, Barbra Higginbotham, Michelle Newberry, Michael Malinconico, Sherrie Schmidt, Colby Riggs, William Potter, Mitch Freedman, Tamara Miller, Flo Wilson, Linda Miller, Susan Martin, Nancy Roderer, Pat Ensor, Patrick Mullin, Ralph Shoffner, Bonnie Postlethwaite

Throughout 2006, LITA celebrates forty years of service to its members. In 1966, ALA Council approved the creation of the Information Science and Automation Division (ISAD). The name was changed in 1978 to the Library and Information Technology Association.

LITA was organized to respond quickly to changing technology trends to better meet its members needs. LITA has a record of four decades of dynamic programming at conferences, National Forums, and regional institutes. It’s publications have evolved with technological changes offering members print and electronic content on the latest trends and issues. LITA members have consistently taken leadership roles in standards development and technological advancement in libraries. LITA recognizes the contributions of its members and leaders in library technology through its awards and encourages future librarians through its scholarships.

Most importantly, LITA provides networking opportunities for its members. LITA members benefit from each other’s expertise and make important professional connections.

Take a look at LITA’s accomplishments, enjoy pictures from the LITA archives, and join in LITA’s celebration of 40 fabulous years!