ALA John Cotton Dana Library Public Relations Award Committee


Reviews and assesses applications for the John Cotton Dana Library Public Relations Award based on established criteria and evaluation process, reaching consensus on the award recipients.

Fill Out the Volunteer Form


Gregg Dodd (Chair, July 1, 2021, to June 30, 2024)
Lisa Noelle Hoenig (Member, July 1, 2021, to June 30, 2023)
Brooke Morris-Chott (Staff Liaison, July 1, 2021, to June 30, 2023)
Julie Reese (Staff Liaison, July 1, 2022, to June 30, 2024)

Displaying active committee roster as of 12/06/2022. Last retrieved on 12/06/2022. Members can log in and refresh the page to view full contact information for committee members.

About this Committee


  • Promote the call for entries
  • Review and evaluate award entries
  • Select and notify award recipients
  • Write press release to announce the winners
  • Assist with awards presentation at the ALA Annual Conference
  • Liaise between Core and the awards sponsors - the H.W. Wilson Foundation and EBSCO Information Services
  • Periodic review and revise the award criteria

Expected Time Commitment

  • One hour in the Fall for application review
  • 20 hours in the Spring for submission scoring
  • Two day virtual or in-person meeting in April (travel paid) for final reviews and selection
  • Two hours at Annual Conference for program participation

Desired Skills, Knowledge, and Experience

  • Must be a previous winner of the John Cotton Dana award
  • Professional background in library marketing/public relations/communications