Margaret Mann Citation

Submit a Nomination for the Mann Citation

Deadline: Applications must be submitted no later than February 28 to be eligible for this year.

The Margaret Mann Citation recognizes outstanding professional achievement in cataloging or classification either through publication of significant professional literature, participation in professional cataloging associations, or valuable contributions to practice in individual libraries.

The winner receives a citation and OCLC donates a $2,000 scholarship to the U.S. or Canadian library school of the winner's choice.


Nominations are accepted by any member of the profession or friends of the profession, and self-nominations are also accepted.

Nominating letters should include a summary of the nominee's career and achievements, particularly those related to the list below. A CV or resume should be included. Endorsements or "seconds" are welcomed inasmuch as they provide substantive information on the achievements of the candidate, but the number of additional letters is not the sole determining factor in the selection.

Currently-serving officers and elected officials of Core, members of the current Mann Citation Committee, previous winners of the Citation, and OCLC employees and their immediate family members are ineligible.

Achievements to be considered include:

  • Notable publications, such as an article, pamphlet, or book;
  • Outstanding contribution to the activities of professional cataloging associations;
  • Outstanding contribution to the technical improvement of cataloging and classification and/or the introduction of a new technique of recognized importance;
  • Outstanding contribution in the area of teaching cataloging and classification.

Except in unusual circumstances, the achievement shall have culminated within the last five years. Nationality and professional association membership are not among the criteria. Nominations of those nominated in a given year but who are not selected for the citation that year will be forwarded to the following year's committee for automatic reconsideration.

View information and the roster for the Margaret Mann Citation Committee.

Sponsored by OCLC
OCLC logo

Past Award Recipients

Year Recipient(s) Year Recipient(s) Year Recipient(s)
2023 Stephen Hearn    
2022 Judith P. Cannan 1998 John D. Byrum 1974 Frederick Kilgour
2021 Award paused while ALCTS transitioned to Core 1997 Sheila S. Intner 1973 Doralyn J. Hickey
2020 Julie Renee Moore 1996 Arlene G. Taylor 1972 Edmund L. Applebaum
2019 Terry Reese, Jr. 1995 Arnold Wajenberg 1971 Henriette D. Avram
2018 Bruce Johnson 1994 Carol Ann Mandel 1970 S. R. Ranganathan
2017 Hope A. Olson 1993 Janet Swan Hill 1969 Katharine L. Ball
2016 Paige Andrew 1992 Elaine Svenonius 1968 Paul S. Dunkin
2015 Magda El-Sherbini 1991 Margaret F. Maxwell 1967 C. Sumner Spalding
2014 Sara Shatford Layne 1990 Ronald Hagler 1966 F. Bernice Field
2013 Judith A. Kuhagen 1989 Lois Mai Chan 1965 Laura Catherine Colvin
2012 Jane Greenberg 1988 Ben R. Tucker 1964 Catherine MacQuarrie
2011 Edward Swanson 1987 Dorothy Glasby 1963 Arthur Hugh Chaplin
2010 Olivia M. A. Madison 1986 Jean Weihs 1962 Willis E. Wright
2009 Francis L. Miksa 1985 Lucia Rather 1961 John William Cronin
2008 Martha Yee 1984 Dorothy Anderson 1960 M. Ruth MacDonald
2007 Robert Wolven 1983 Frances Hinton 1959 Andrew D. Osborn
2006 Judith Hopkins 1982 Elizabeth Baughman 1958 Esther J. Piercy
2005 Dorothy McGarry 1981 Sanford Berman 1957 Daniel Judson Haykin
2004 Barbara Tillett 1980 Peter Lewis 1956 Susan Grey Akers
2003 Thomas J. Delsey 1979 Michael Gorman and Paul Winkler 1955 Seymour Lubetzky
2002 Jean Hirons 1978 Derek William Austin 1954 Pauline A. Seely
2001 Brian E. C. Schottlaender 1977 Phyllis Allen Richmond 1953 Maurice F. Tauber
2000 Patricia M. Thomas 1976 Eva Verona 1952 Marie Louise Prevost
1999 Nancy B. Olson 1975 Margaret Webster Ayrault 1951 Lucile M. Morsch