ALA/IIDA Library Interior Design Awards

Submit a Nomination for the Library Interior Design Awards 

Deadline: Applications for the 2024 awards open on January 8 and close on April 5.

ALA/IIDA Library Interior Design Awards 2024

This biennial competition held in even years is co-sponsored by the American Library Association (ALA) and the International Interior Design Association (IIDA). The awards honor international excellence in library interior design. Award winners demonstrate excellence in aesthetics, design, creativity, function, and satisfaction of the client’s objectives. The competition is managed by Core's Awards for Buildings and Interiors Committee.

The ALA/Core Awards for Library Buildings and Interiors Awards Committee selects one representative to be a juror on the award selection committee. Jurors selected by ALA/Core must be an active member of ALA/Core and have experience in building projects of various sizes. They must also have significant experience as a librarian in building projects or have significant experience as a design professional or building consultant. The next juror application selection process will open in October 2025.

Competition Categories

  • Public Libraries 30,000 sq. ft. & smaller 
  • Public Libraries Over 30,000 sq. ft. 
  • Academic Libraries 30,000 sq. ft. & smaller 
  • Academic Libraries Over 30,000 sq. ft. 
  • Special Libraries 30,000 sq. ft. & smaller 
  • Special Libraries Over 30,000 sq. ft. 
  • Outstanding Historical Renovation Project 
  • Single Space: a small project that focuses on a specific room or area in a library “On the Boards”: a project currently in the design phase and not under construction
  • Best of Competition – Specialty Award honoring a beyond exemplary interior library design embodying an innovative built environment promoting community and user engagement

Past Winners

See the IIDA Awards Page