Value of Academic Libraries Travel Scholarship

About the Value of Academic Libraries Travel Scholarship

The Association of College and Research Libraries offers travel scholarships of up to $2,000 each for librarians presenting on their work demonstrating the impact of academic libraries in the broader landscape of higher education. This program is one of several developed by ACRL’s Value of Academic Libraries Committee to support librarians in their efforts to communicate to our partners in higher education including administrators, scholars, and teachers working in all disciplines. These travel scholarships support the community in taking up a recommendation from the 2017 ACRL report Academic Library Impact: Improving Practice and Essential Areas to Research (prepared by OCLC Research and available for download or purchase) that academic librarians effectively communicate their contributions both up to institutional stakeholders and out to other departments.

ACRL invites applications from those seeking to present work on the impact of academic libraries at higher education conferences or disciplinary conferences where they will reach a wide audience (scholarships will not be awarded for travel to library conferences). The presentations may be based on practice-based work or formal research projects. To have the greatest possible effect, the committee seeks strong applicants who bring a range of perspectives in terms of types of institutions, geographical regions, and nature of the work presented.

More information is available on the ACRL website:

Administered by:

Association of College and Research Libraries (ACRL) logo

2018 Winner(s)

Sara Arnold-Garza (Towson University) for a presentation titled “Research as Inquiry, or, How to Win Librarian Friends and Influence Students” at the American Political Science Association Teaching & Learning Conference.

Rebecca A. Croxton (University of North Carolina at Charlotte) for a presentation titled “From Matriculation to Graduation: A University-Wide Assessment of Student Engagement and Success” at the IUPUI Assessment Institute.

Britt Foster and Dave Tyckoson (California State University, Fresno) for a presentation titled “Taking a Deeper Dive: Using Capstone Papers for Richer Information Literacy Assessment” at the Western Association of Schools and Colleges Senior College and University Commission Academic Resource Conference.

Kathleen Kasten and Jamie Saragossi (Stony Brook University) for a roundtable presentation titled “The Intellectual Landscape in the Library: Speaker Events as a Tool for Academic Engagement” at the Northeast Modern Language Association Conference.

Sarivette Ortiz-Sanchez (Ana G. Mendez University) for a presentation titled “The Role of Academic Libraries in Support of Cultural Diversity and Inclusion in Education” at the International Congress of the Latin American Studies Association.

Michelle Reed (University of Texas at Arlington) for a presentation titled “Beyond Open Connections: Leveraging Information Literacy to Increase Impact of Open Education” at the Open Education Global Conference.

Heidi Schroeder (Michigan State University) for a presentation titled “Leveraging Library Consortia to Improve Vendor E-Resource Accessibility in the Big Ten Academic Alliance” at the Accessing Higher Ground conference of the Association on Higher Education and Disability.

Megan E. Welsh (University of Colorado Boulder) for a presentation titled “Whose House? Our House!: Academic Libraries as Sites for Transfer Student Engagement” at the American Educational Research Association conference.