Theodor Seuss Geisel Award

About the Theodor Seuss Geisel Award
The Theodor Seuss Geisel Award, established in 2004, is given annually (beginning in 2006) to the author(s) and illustrator(s) of the most distinguished contribution to the body of American children’s literature known as beginning reader books published in the United States during the preceding year.

Administered by:

Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC) logo

2023 Winner(s)

I Did It!

Written and illustrated by Michael Emberley. Published by Holiday House

With determination and some help from friends, a little creature learns to ride a bike.

2023 Honor(s)

Fish and Wave

Written and illustrated by Sergio Ruzzier. Published by HarperAlley, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers

This gentle, action-packed comics reader presents a distinctive anthropomorphic pair navigating the early waters of friendship. Flexibility is key as this duo transitions from “me” and “you” to a playful “we.”

Gigi and Ojiji

Written and illustrated by Melissa Iwai. Published by Harper, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers

Gigi’s excitement about meeting Ojiji, her Japanese grandfather, gives way to uncertainty when he arrives. After her mother reassures her, Gigi and Ojiji begin to settle into a new, warm relationship. 

Owl and Penguin

Written and illustrated by Vikram Madan. Published by Holiday House

In three short chapters, Owl and Penguin support each other and find humor in sharing ice cream, attempting to fly, and enjoying a rainy day. 

A Seed Grows

Written and illustrated by Antoinette Portis. Published by Neal Porter Books, an imprint of Holiday House

The lifecycle of a sunflower from seed to flower and back to seed is presented in minimalistic, lyrical text accompanied by richly textured images of the plant at each stage of development.