Marshall Cavendish Excellence In Library Programming Award

See the newest version of this award. This page is displaying a historical version of the award. All winners for all years are available at the newest version of the award.
About the Marshall Cavendish Excellence In Library Programming Award
An annual award consisting of $2,000 and a citation of achievement recognizes either a school or public library which demonstrates excellence in library programming by providing programs which have community impact and respond to community needs.

Administered by:

American Library Association logo

2012 Winner(s)

Waukegan (IL) Public Library

The Waukegan Public Library’s creation of an Early Learning Center (ELC) to meet the demands of a community affected by changing demographics and a lack of resources, especially for children ages 0-7, provided a model for community engagement.  The Early Learning Center was designed to both support and celebrate its diverse community and to provide early intervention to help bolster lagging literacy rates among for children entering school so they enter school on par with their peers.  Through innovative programming entitled, Championing Our Littlest Learners, The ELC program also focused on the importance of parents as “first teachers.”  Elizabeth Stearns, assistant director of Community Services believes that this is especially important to help reinforce a commitment to continue pre-literacy skills, while providing a foundation for student success.