The Letter Awards

About the The Letter Awards To provide in some tangible way, appreciation of the work  for the humanizing of knowledge which is being done in the world of letters by librarians or libraries. The idea of an annual Librarian Award is to honor a man or woman whose work especially exemplifies the way librarians use their professional skil to give to all, the tools of life.  The Letter Library Award is given for distinguished contribution to the development of enlightened public opinion on an  issue of current or continuing importance.

Administered by:

American Library Association logo

1956 Winner(s)

Sister Jane Marie Barbour

C.D.P Director of Our Lady of the Lake Library School, San Antonio, Texas

For her role in fostering the appreciation of books among teenagers in Texas and her service as a leader in other various professional library associations.

University of Kansas Library at Lawrence, Kansas

Received by its director, Mr. Robert G. Vosper

For an outstanding exhibition and catalog of banned books "which have survived Fire, the Sword, and the Censors". - The Bulletin of the A.L.A., September 1956, p513.