Ken Haycock Award for Promoting Librarianship

About the Ken Haycock Award for Promoting Librarianship
An annual award consisting of $1,000 and a 24k gold-framed citation of achievement honoring an individual for contributing significantly to the public recognition and appreciation of librarianship through professional performance, teaching, and/or writing.

Administered by:

American Library Association logo

2021 Winner(s)

Steven Yates, PhD

assistant director and assistant professor at the School of Library and Information Studies (SLIS) at the University of Alabama

Yates began his professional career working in school and public libraries before becoming an instructor at the University of Alabama, where he is now an assistant director and a faculty member in the University’s College of Communication & Information Sciences and College of Education.

Yates has dedicated himself to fostering school libraries and librarians, developing an Education Specialist certification/degree program at SLIS in partnership with the College of Education, and serving as the school library media program coordinator.

Dr. Yates is well recognized in the greater library community, being a member of every ALA division as well as a Life Member of ALA.