Joseph W. Lippincott Award

About the Joseph W. Lippincott Award
An annual award consisting of $1,500 and a 24k gold-framed citation presented annually to a librarian for distinguished service to the profession of librarianship, such service to include outstanding participation in the activities of the professional library association, notable published professional writing, or other significant activity on behalf of the profession and its aims.

Administered by:

American Library Association logo

2023 Winner(s)

Julius C. Jefferson Jr.


Julius C. Jefferson Jr. is the recipient of the 2023 Joseph W. Lippincott Award.  This award is sponsored by Joseph W. Lippincott III and presented by the American Library Association (ALA) for distinguished service in the profession of librarianship. 

The Jury for the 2023 Joseph W. Lippincott Award is pleased to honor Jefferson for his lifelong mentoring of librarians and library workers; commitment to equity, diversity and inclusion (EDI); and for leadership in the profession in a variety of roles, most notably during the pandemic.   

During his service as President of ALA (2020-21), he led the association through one of the most challenging periods in its history.  A colleague who wrote in support of Jefferson’s nomination noted “as ALA chief spokesperson, Julius advocated for COVID relief funding to libraries…adjusted to our virtual environment and presided over the governing body, Council.”  During his presidential term he created ALA Holding Space:  a national conversation series with libraries, a nationwide virtual tour to highlight the innovation and impact of a diverse range of libraries and to engage stakeholders to advocate for libraries and the communities they serve.