Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, and Transgendered Book Award

See the newest version of this award. This page is displaying a historical version of the award. All winners for all years are available at the newest version of the award.
About the Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, and Transgendered Book Award The Stonewall Book Award-Barbara Gittings Literature Award and the Stonewall Book Award-Israel Fishman Non-Fiction Award are presented to English language books that have exceptional merit relating to the gay/lesbian/bisexual/transgendered experience.

Administered by:

Rainbow Round Table (RRT) logo

Non-Fiction Award

2001 Winner(s)

Gaylaw: Challenging the Apartheid of the Closet

Author: William N. Eskridge; Publisher: Harvard University Press


2001 Honor(s)

Breakfast with Scot: A Novel

Author: Michael Downing; Publisher: Counterpoint

The Danish Girl: A Novel

Author: David Ebershoff; Publisher: Viking

The Night Listener: A Novel

Author: Armistead Maupin; Publisher: HarperCollins

The World in Us: Lesbian and Gay Poetry of the Next Wave: An Anthology

Editor: Michael Lassell and Elena Georgiou; Publisher: St. Martin's Press


2001 Honor(s)

Janet, My Mother, and Me: A Memoir of Growing Up with Janet Flanner and Natalia Danesi Murray

Author: William Murray; Publisher: Simon & Schuster

Lesbian and Gay Voices: An Annotated Bibliography and Guide to Literature for Children and Young Adults

Author: Frances Ann Day; Publisher: Greenwood Press

Losing Matt Shepard: Life and Politics in the Aftermath of Anti-gay Murder

Author: Beth Loffreda; Publisher: Columbia University Press

Pedro and Me: Friendship, Loss, and What I Learned

Author: Judd Winick; Publisher: Henry Holt

Literature Award

2001 Winner(s)


Author: Sarah Walters; Publisher: Riverhead Books