Gay, Lesbian, and Bisexual Book Award

See the newest version of this award. This page is displaying a historical version of the award. All winners for all years are available at the newest version of the award.
About the Gay, Lesbian, and Bisexual Book Award The Stonewall Book Award-Barbara Gittings Literature Award and the Stonewall Book Award-Israel Fishman Non-Fiction Award are presented to English language books that have exceptional merit relating to the gay/lesbian/bisexual/transgendered experience.

Administered by:

Rainbow Round Table (RRT) logo

Non-Fiction Award

1998 Winner(s)

The Shared Heart: Portraits and Stories Celebrating Lesbian, Gay, and Bisexual Young People

Author: Adam Mastoon; Publisher: William Morrow and Co. / Lothrop, Lee & Shepard Books


1998 Finalist(s)

Beyond the Pale: A Novel

Author: Elana Dykewomon; Publisher: Press Gang Publishers

The Escape Artist: A Novel

Author: Judith Katz; Publisher: Firebrand Books

In Awe

Author: Scott Heim; Publisher: HarperCollins

Prozac Highway: A Novel

Author: Persimmon Blackbridge; Publisher: Press Gang Publisher


1998 Finalist(s)

Hospital Time

Author: Amy Hoffman; Publisher: Duke University Press

Lonely Hunters: An Oral History of Lesbian and Gay Southern Life, 1948-1968

Author: James T. Sears; Publisher: Westview Press

Queerly Classed

Editor: Susan Raffo; Publisher: South End Press

Sex and Sensibility: Stories of a Lesbian Generation

Author: Arlene Stein; Publisher: University of California Press

Literature Award

1998 Winner(s)

Working Parts: A Novel

Author: Lucy Jane Bledsoe; Publisher: Seal Press