Gay and Lesbian Book Award

See the newest version of this award. This page is displaying a historical version of the award. All winners for all years are available at the newest version of the award.
About the Gay and Lesbian Book Award  The Gay and Lesbian Book Award is presented to English language books that have exceptional merit relating to the gay/lesbian experience.  

Administered by:

Rainbow Round Table (RRT) logo


1993 Finalist(s)

A Member of the Family: Gay Men Write about Their Families

Author: John Preston; Publisher: Dutton

Becoming a Man: Half a Life Story

Author: Paul Monette; Publisher: Harcourt, Brace, Jovanovich

The Earth House

Author: Jeanne DuPrau; Publisher: New Chapter Press

Mother Clap's Molly House: The Gay Subculture in England, 1700-1830

Author: Rictor Norton; Publisher: GMP

Positively Gay: New Approaches to Lesbian and Gay Life

Author: Betty Berzon; Publisher: Celestial Arts


1993 Finalist(s)

Almost History

Author:Christopher Bram; Publisher: Donald L. Fine

The Easy Way Out

Author: Stephen McCauley; Publisher: Simon & Schuster

Vital Ties

Author: Karen Kringle; Publisher: Spinsters

Written on the Body

Author: Jeanette Winterson; Publisher: Jonathon Cape

Non-Fiction Award

1993 Winner(s)

Making History: The Struggle for Gay and Lesbian Equal Rights, 1945-1990

Author: Eric Marcus; Publisher: HarperCollins