Gale Award Recipients

Award Recipients


2007 No award given
2006 Arley Public Library
Arley, AL
For raising 140,000 for a permanent library
2005 Joseph Mark Lauinger Memorial Library
Georgetown University
for "The Gallery Tour and Private Auction at Sotheby's was selected as an innovative program to raise significant funding for the library and to support the library's Books Forever program"
2004 Worth County School Library
Grant City, MO
for "evidence of excellence in developing a partnership library with electronic resources, collections, patron services, and modern facilities contributing to the success of the county's rural citizens"
2003 Jewish Community Library of Los Angeles
for One People Many Stories
2002 Haines Borough Public Library
Haines, AK
for raising 2.3 million dollars for a new public library
2001 Tompkins County Public Library
Ithaca, NY
for purchasing print, digital and media resources, additional technology, furniture, and extensive programming in the new facility including a new Health Information Center
2000 Clute Public Library
Clute, TX
for establishing a new library facility
1999 Deschutes Public Library
Deschute, OR
for establishing a new library facility
1998 Rio Community Library
Rio, WI
for establishing a new library facility
1997 Decorah Public Library
Decorah, IA
for their "Building From the Inside Out" project
1996 The Friends of the Town of Pelham Public Library
Pelham Town, NY
for the Pelham Town Library Campaign
1995 The Friends of Lumberton Texas Public Library
Lumberton, TX
for establishing a new public library
1994 Staunton Public Library
Staunton, VA
for its capital fundraising project for a building renovation
1993 Mazomanie Free Library
Mazomanie, WI
for the "Mazomanie Depot Library Project"
1992 Oliver Wolcott Library
Litchfield, CT
for the "Festival of Trees"
1991 Bud Werner Memorial Library
Steamboat Springs, CO
for the "Lagniappe Book Sale and Auction"
1990 Elmer Holmes Bobst Library
New York University
for the support of the Robert F. Wagner Archives
1989 Miami-Dade Public Library System
Miami, FL
for "$47 Million for Books"
1988 Sterling C. Evans Library
Texas A&M University
for "Library Excellence Dinners"
1987 Folke Bernadotte Memorial Library
Gustavus Adolphus College
St. Peter, MN
for "Curriculum II Library Resources Challange Grant"
1986 No award given.
1985 Dauphin County Library System
Harrisburg, PA
for developing its Book Partners Program as a joint venture of the library and business community

Return to Main Thomson Gale Awards Page

Return to Main Awards Page