Francis Joseph Campbell Award

About the Francis Joseph Campbell Award                         Presented to a person or institution that has made an outstanding contribution to the advancement of library service for the blind and physically handicapped. This contribution may take the form of an imaginative and constructive program in a particular library; a recognized contribution to the national library program for blind persons; creative participation in library associations or organizations that advance reading for the blind; a significant publication or writing in the field; imaginative contribution to library administration, reference, circulation, selection, acquisitions, or technical services; or any activity of recognized importance. Visit the website for the Royal National College for the Blind to read more about Francis Joseph Campbell, for whom this award is named.

Administered by:

Assoc of Specialized and Cooperative Library Agencies logo

2012 Winner(s)

Carole Rose

recently retired as a librarian at the Indiana Talking Book and Braille Library

Rose was selected for her significant contributions over 46 years to the advancement of library service for blind and physically handicapped people throughout the state of Indiana, and also for her outstanding advocacy on behalf of the Indiana low vision community. The award also recognizes Rose’s dedicated leadership in creating Indiana Talking Book & Braille Library programs that embraced change and positively touched the lives of generations of Hoosiers with vision loss.