Elizabeth Futas Catalyst for Change Award

About the Elizabeth Futas Catalyst for Change Award
A bi-annual award recognizing and honoring a librarian who invests time and talent to make positive changes in the profession of librarianship by:
  • taking risks to further the cause;
  • helping new librarians grow and achieve;
  • working for change within the American Library Association or other library organization;
  • inspiring colleagues to excel or make the impossible possible.

Administered by:

American Library Association logo

2020 Recipient(s)

Nora Wiltse

teacher-librarian at John C. Coonley Elementary School

Ms. Wiltse is commended for her many years of mentorship and support for early career school librarians and library science graduate students. She is a respected colleague in the American Library Association and a member of ALA’s Steering Committee on Organizational Effectiveness. She is a long-term supporter of the Association of Illinois School Library Educators and former leader of the Monarch Reader’s Choice Book nominations committee, ensuring her love of books and reading extends beyond her school to students throughout Illinois.