Children's Literature Legacy Award

About the Children's Literature Legacy Award The Legacy Award honors an author or illustrator whose books, published in the United States, have made, over a period of years, a substantial and lasting contribution to literature for children through books that demonstrate integrity and respect for all children’s lives and experiences.

1954- 2018 the award was named the Laura Ingalls Wilder Medal.

Administered by:

Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC) logo

2023 Winner(s)

James E. Ransome

James E. Ransome, illustrator and author is the winner of the 2023 Children’s Literature Legacy Award honoring an author or illustrator, published in the United States, whose books have made a significant and lasting contribution to literature for children. His numerous works include “The Bell Rang” (Atheneum, 2019), “Before She Was Harriet'' (Holiday House, 2017), and “Uncle Jeb’s Barbershop” (Simon & Schuster, 1993).

Ransome’s award-winning works include “Uncle Jed's Barbershop,” which won the Coretta Scott King Illustrator Honor Award, 1994 and “The Creation” recipient of the Coretta Scott King Illustrator Award, 1995. In addition, Ransome has received the IBBY Honor Award for “The Creation,” and the NAACP Image Award for “Let My People Go.”

Ransome’s body of work contributes to the knowledge base of Black American life both historical and present day. His art displays both the tragic parts of Black history while rendering Black humanity, perseverance, hope, and courage. Ransome sees his books as a natural bridge for young readers between the tangible and our history.