Paul Banks and Carolyn Harris Preservation Award

About the Paul Banks and Carolyn Harris Preservation Award
This award honors the memory of Paul Banks and Carolyn Harris, early leaders in library preservation and recognizes the contribution of a professional preservation specialist who has been active in the field of preservation and/or conservaiton for library and/or archival materials.

Administered by:

Association for Library Collections and Technical Svcs logoPreservation and Reformatting Section logo

Award and Frequency

An annual award of $1,500 and a citation
This award is given out on an annual basis.


Any person who meets the criteria is eligible.


Employees of Preservation Technologies are not eligible.

Application Instructions

Nominations are accepted by the award jury chair.

Nominations should include a formal statement of nomination that provides a strong rationale for the nomination by addressing how the nominee meets the criteris for the award;  letters of support are welcome.

Contact Information

Displaying active committee roster as of 02/26/2024. Last retrieved on 02/26/2024. Members can log in and refresh page to view full contact information for committee members.

Selection Criteria

Criteria for selection of the winner will be determined by the person's accomplishments, as they relate to preservation leadership in such activities as:
Leadership in professional associations at local, state, regional or national level;
Contributions to the development, application or utilization of new or improved methods, techniques and routines;
Evidence of studies or research in preservation;
Sinificant contribution to professional literature;
Training and mentoring in the field of preservation.


The recipient is notified by the jury chair.