Randolph Caldecott Medal

About the Randolph Caldecott Medal
The Caldecott Medal was named in honor of nineteenth-century English illustrator Randolph Caldecott. It is awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association, to the artist of the most distinguished American picture book for children.

Administered by:

Association for Library Service to Children logo

2021 Winner(s)

"We Are Water Protectors," illustrated by Michaela Goade, written by Carole Lindstrom. Published by Roaring Brook Press, an imprint of Macmillan Children's Publishing Group.

2021 Honor(s)

"A Place Inside of Me: A Poem to Heal the Heart," illustrated by Noa Denmon, written by Zetta Elliott. Published by Farrar, Straus, and Giroux.

"Me & Mama," illustrated and written by Cozbi A. Cabrera. Published by Denene Millner Books/Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers.

"Outside In," illustrated by Cindy Derby, written by Deborah Underwood. Published by Houghton Mifflin Harcourt.

"The Cat Man of Aleppo," illustrated by Yuko Shimizu, written by Irene Latham & Karim Shamsi-Basha. Published by G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers.