STS Oberly Award for Bibliography in the Agricultural or Natural Sciences

About the STS Oberly Award for Bibliography in the Agricultural or Natural Sciences The Oberly Award was established in 1923 in memory of Eunice Rockwood Oberly, librarian of the Bureau of Plant Industry, United States Department of Agriculture from 1908 to 1921. She was the Bureau of Plant Industry's representative to the Congressional Joint Commission on Reclassification of Government Employees and was instrumental in gaining a fairer recognition of library activities. This biennial award is given in odd-numbered years for the best English-language bibliography in the field of agriculture or a related science.

Administered by:

Association of College and Research Libraries (ACRL) logoScience and Technology Section logo

Award and Frequency

The author(s) will receive a cash award and a plaque, funded by an endowment created by individuals and vendor contributions, including the U.S. Agricultural Information Network, the Agway Foundation, Associates of the National Agricultural Library, the Council on Botanical and Horticultural Libraries, and the Cargill Information Center.

This award is given out on a biennial basis.


English-language print or electronic bibliographies in any format in the field of agriculture or a related science published during the two-year period preceding the year in which the award is presented. Bibliographies may be a print or electronic monograph, a completed series viewed as a body of work, or an ongoing print or electronic publication.

Application Instructions

Nominations for the 2021 award are currently being accepted and may be made in the form of a letter. They should point out the reason the bibliography should be considered. A copy of the bibliography should accompany the nomination.

Send nominations or questions to the award Co-Chairs, Patricia E. Kenly, Georgia Tech, or Zoe Pettway Uno, University of Southern California, You may also contact Chase Ollis,

Contact Information

Kathleen H. Flynn (Co-Chair, July 1, 2022, to June 30, 2024)
Paula C Johnson (Co-Chair, July 1, 2023, to June 30, 2025)

Displaying active committee roster as of 03/01/2024. Last retrieved on 03/01/2024. Members can log in and refresh page to view full contact information for committee members.

Selection Criteria

Bibliographies submitted for award consideration are judged on accuracy, scope, usefulness, format, and special features such as explanatory introductions, annotations, and indexes.