ALA Medal of Excellence

About the ALA Medal of Excellence
An annual award consisting of a bronzed medal and a 24k gold-framed citation of achievement for recent creative leadership of high order, particularly in the fields of library management, library training, cataloging and classification, and the tools and techniques of librarianship.

Award name changed in 2020, from the Melvil Dewey Medal to the ALA Medal of Excellence. 

Administered by:

American Library Association logo

Award and Frequency

An annual award consisting of $2,000, bronzed medal and a gold-framed citation of achievement.
This award is given out on an annual basis.

Application Instructions

Please complete the online application, including all supporting materials as attachments. 


Contact Information

Displaying active committee roster as of 09/30/2023. Last retrieved on 09/30/2023. Members can log in and refresh page to view full contact information for committee members.

Selection Criteria

  • Demonstrates sustained leadership
  • Commitment to the library profession
  • Creates partnerships to provide innovative services or create unique training opportunities
  • Program or initiative that breaks new ground in library service, significantly benefits employees, library patrons, library operations, or the community-at-large and can be replicated in other settings