Children's Literature Legacy Award

About the Children's Literature Legacy Award The Legacy Award honors an author or illustrator whose books, published in the United States, have made, over a period of years, a substantial and lasting contribution to literature for children through books that demonstrate integrity and respect for all children’s lives and experiences.

1954- 2018 the award was named the Laura Ingalls Wilder Medal.

Administered by:

Association for Library Service to Children logo
Mildred D. TaylorMildred D. Taylor2021 - Winner
Kevin HenkesKevin Henkes2020 - Winner
Jacqueline WoodsonJacqueline Woodson2018 - Winner
Nikki GrimesNikki Grimes2017 - Winner
Jerry PinkneyJerry Pinkney 2016 - Winner
Donald CrewsDonald Crews2015 - Winner
Katherine PatersonKatherine Paterson2013 - Winner
Tomie dePaola2011 - Winner
Ashley Bryan2009 - Winner
James Marshall2007 - Winner
Laurence Yep2005 - Winner
Eric Carle2003 - Winner
Milton Meltzer2001 - Winner
Russell Freedman1998 - Winner
Virginia Hamilton1995 - Winner
Marcia Brown1992 - Winner
Elizabeth George Speare1989 - Winner
Jean Fritz1986 - Winner
Maurice Sendak1983 - Winner
Theodor S. (Dr. Seuss) Geisel1980 - Winner
Beverly Cleary1975 - Winner
E. B. White1970 - Winner
Ruth Sawyer1965 - Winner
Clara Ingram Judson1960 - Winner
Laura Ingalls Wilder1954 - Winner