Innovation in Instruction Award

About the Innovation in Instruction Award Given to acknowledge a Library's contributions to the development, advancement, and support of information literacy instruction.

Administered by:

Library Instruction Round Table (LIRT) logo

Award and Frequency

The award winner will receive $1,000 cash award, a plaque, and a $500 travel stipend to be used to attend the ALA Annual Conference.

This award is given out on an annual basis.


The award is open to all types of libraries, academic and non-academic alike.  Practice(s) will be examined before scholarship, with points given for low-cost and easily reproducible innovations.  Only one member of the library applicant nomination group needs to be a librarian. 

Application Instructions

To nominate your own or another Library for the Award, please submit a letter and any other supporting media to address the specific criteria. The nomination packet should also include 3 letters of support and the following identifying information:

  • Nominator Information (if different than library contact person)

Your Name; Address; Phone number; Email address

  • Information about the Library Being Nominated

Name; Address; Name of Library Contact Person; Phone number; Email address

Send all nomination materials to the LIRT Awards Committee Chairperson by the deadline.

Contact Information

Bridget Farrell (Co-Chair, July 1, 2022, to June 30, 2024)
Kimberly Shotick (Chair, July 1, 2023, to June 30, 2024)
Kimberly Shotick (Chair, July 1, 2023, to June 30, 2024)

Displaying active committee roster as of 03/04/2024. Last retrieved on 03/04/2024. Members can log in and refresh page to view full contact information for committee members.

Selection Criteria

The award will be given to a library that has done one (or more) of the following:

  • Revamped its public instruction program in response to a new technology, an assessment report, etc.
  • Initiated a public program that utilizes best practices of instruction in combination with new methods of delivery.
  • Created an original type of instruction, e.g., team-taught interdisciplinary research sessions, a novel form of outreach, etc.


The award winner will be notified following the ALA Midwinter Meeting, no later than February 15th.