NMRT Annual Conference Professional Development Attendance Award

About the NMRT Annual Conference Professional Development Attendance Award (Formerly the Marshall Cavendish Award) In the spirit of ALA's New Members Round Table (NMRT), this award fosters active involvement in ALA through various special events at the Annual Conference.  The Annual Conference Professional Development Attendance Award is presented to two NMRT members each year.  The award provides professional development and networking opportunities to NMRT members by providing a ticket to attend the event of their choice.  A list of ticketed events at ALA Annual 2023 can be found here

Administered by:

New Member Round Table (NMRT) logo

Award and Frequency

NMRT is providing one ticket for each winner to the event of their choice at the ALA Annual Conference. Tickets to many special events would be out of the financial reach of most NMRT members.  This award was developed to foster their professional involvement and to increase their networking opportunities.

This award is given out on an annual basis.


All ALA NMRT members who are not currently serving on the Annual Conference Professional Development Attendance Award Committee or the NMRT Executive Board are encouraged to apply.

Application Instructions

To apply, please fill out the application.

The application includes the submission of the following short essay prompt: In 250 words or less, please share with us why you want to attend the selected event of your choice and how it may help benefit you personally and/or professionally. 

For more information, contact the Annice Sevett.


(To view the full and detailed list of all ALA-listed ticketed events, please click here.)

  • ISS School Tour (AASL)
  • ALA President Inaugural Celebration (ALA)
  • Library Insights Summit: Connecting Publishers & Librarians (ALA & Foreward Magazine)
  • Newbery-Caldecott-Legacy Awards Banquet (ALSC)
  • Assembling Your Consultant Tool Kit: What you Need to Know to Become a Successful Consultant (CORE)
  • Core Chicago Area Public Libraries Tour (CORE)
  • Core Merchandise Mart Furniture Showrooms and Factory Tour (CORE)
  • Core Innovative Learning Spaces: A Tour of Innovative Chicago Area Academic Institutions (CORE)
  • Preservation in Action (CORE)
  • Introduction to Library Assessment (CORE)
  • A Joint Workshop with NARDAC and PCC SCT RDA Training Task Group: Unlocking the Power of RDA (CORE)
  • Chapter Leaders Forum (CRO)
  • GNCRT's 2023 magical Comics Tea (GNCRT)
  • Global Libraries as Advocates for Information Policy Change (IRRT)
  • International Librarians Reception (IRRT)
  • Walking Tour of Chicago (NMRT)
  • Inclusion, Resources, and Joy: Serving the Alzheimer's/Dementia Community in Public Libraries (ODLOS)
  • 54tf Annual Coretta Scott King Book Awards Breakfast (CSKBART)
  • New Digital Tools for Capturing Learning Outcomes and Impact (PLA)
  • Project Outcome: Data for Impact and Improvement (PLA)
  • Exploring with Tweens! Creating STEAM Exploration Spaces that are Inclusive, Equitable, and Accessible for Youth (PPO)
  • Rainbow Round Table 50th Anniversary Celebration (RRT)
  • Research in the Heart of America: Chicago Area resources for Genealogy and Local History (RUSA)
  • Literary Tastes: Celebrating the Best Reading of the Year (RUSA)
  • ALA Trivia Championship (RUSA)
  • 2023 Andrew Carnegie Medals for Excellence in Fiction and Nonfiction Award Ceremony and Reception (RUSA)
  • Cookies & Conversation for Trustees, Friends and Foundations (UNITED)
  • The Laugh's on Us  (UNITED)
  • Gala Author Tea sponsored by Data Axle Reference Solutions (UNITED)
  • Booklist and YALSA Present: The 2023 Michael L. Printz Awards (YALSA)
  • YA Author Coffee Klatch (YALSA)


Contact Information

Kimberly L. Redd (Staff Liaison, July 1, 2015, to June 30, 2026) - klredd@ala.org
Work Phone: (312) 280-4279
Fax: (312) 280-3256
American Library Association
225 N Michigan Ave Ste 1300
Chicago, IL 60601-7616

Displaying active committee roster as of 11/29/2023. Last retrieved on 11/29/2023. Members can log in and refresh page to view full contact information for committee members.


The two award winnders will be personally nofified by May 20th.