Norman Horrocks-Scarecrow Press Annual Conference Award

About the Norman Horrocks-Scarecrow Press Annual Conference Award This award was established in 2011 to honor the accomplishments of Dr. Norman Horrocks, who contributed to ALA throughout his life and was a member of the Ad Hoc Committee that worked to establish the RMRT. The travel grant will help retired members of the RMRT to defray the costs of attending an ALA Conference.

Administered by:

Winner image

Award and Frequency

$1,000 travel grant to help retired members of the RMRT to defray the costs of attending an ALA Conference. You must attend the ALA Annual Conference in order to receive the travel grant.

This award is given out on an annual basis.


Eligible candidates must be a RMRT member, retired from full-time paid employment and have a record of active involvement in ALA prior to retirement.

Application Instructions


Nominees must include a statement of no more than 250 words explaining how they would benefit from and contribute to participation in Annual Conference.
Applications should be submitted to Danielle M. Alderson at or via mail to: Danielle M. Alderson, ALA, 50 E. Huron St., Chicago, IL 60611. For more information, call (800) 545-2433, ext. 3213.

Contact Information

Danielle M. Ponton (Staff Liaison, July 1, 2010, to June 30, 2025) -
Work Phone: (312) 280-3213
Fax: (312) 944-6131
American Library Association
112 Broadmoor
Chicago, IL 60438

Displaying active committee roster as of 09/26/2023. Last retrieved on 09/26/2023. Members can log in and refresh page to view full contact information for committee members.