Andrew Carnegie Medals for Excellence in Fiction and Nonfiction

About the Andrew Carnegie Medals for Excellence in Fiction and Nonfiction The Andrew Carnegie Medal for Excellence in Fiction and the Andrew Carnegie Medal for Excellence in Nonfiction were established in 2012 to recognize the best fiction and nonfiction books for adult readers published in the U.S. the previous year. Additional information can be found at

Administered by:

Reference and User Services Association logoPublishing - Booklist logo

Award and Frequency

The winners (one for fiction, one for nonfiction) receive a $5,000 cash award, and two finalists in each category receive $1,500.

This award is given out on an annual basis.


Books written for adults and that were published in the previous year in the United States.

Application Instructions

Titles are drawn from the previous year's Booklist Editor's Choice and RUSA CODES Notable Books lists.  There are no direct submissions to these awards.

Contact Information

Shuntai Sykes (Staff Liaison, June 30, 2018, to December 31, 2099) -
American Library Association
225 N Michigan Ave Ste 1300
Chicago, IL 60601-7616

Displaying active committee roster as of 06/27/2022. Last retrieved on 06/27/2022. Members can log in to view full contact information for committee members.


A longlist of is announced each September of 50 titles followed by a shortlist announcement of six finalists in September. The winners are announced at the RUSA Book and Media Awards Ceremony at the ALA Midwinter Meeting. The winners are presented their medals at the ALA Annual Conference.