Frances Henne Award

About the Frances Henne Award The Frances Henne Award recognizes a school librarian with five years or less experience who demonstrates leadership qualities with students, teachers and administrators, to attend an AASL conference or ALA Annual Conference for the first time.

Established in 1986.

Administered by:

American Association of School Libraries logo

Award and Frequency

Annual $1,250 award.
This award is given out on an annual basis.


The applicant shall be a current AASL personal member.

Application Instructions

To apply, visit the AASL website.

Contact Information

Ms. Allison K. Cline (Staff Liaison, July 1, 2019, to June 30, 2022) -
Work Phone: (312) 280-4385
American Library AssociationAmerican Association of School Librarians
225 N Michigan Ave
Ste 1300
Chicago, IL 60601-7616

Displaying active committee roster as of 10/20/2021. Last retrieved on 10/20/2021. Members can log in to view full contact information for committee members.

Selection Criteria

The following criteria will be used in the selection process:

  1. The applicant shall be a current AASL personal member.
  2. The applicant shall be currently employed as a school librarian at the building-level and have from 1-5 years experience as a school librarian. School library experience should not exceed 5 years.
  3. The applicant shall have no previous attendance at an ALA Annual Conference or an AASL National Conference.


Recipients are notified in the spring.