IS Innovation Award

About the IS Innovation Award
This annual award recognizes a project that demonstrates creative, innovative, or unique approaches to information literacy instruction or programming.

Administered by:

Association of College and Research Libraries logoInstruction Section logo

Award and Frequency

$3,000 and a plaque, sponsored by EBSCO Information Services.

This award is given out on an annual basis.


Academic librarians or academic project teams that include an academic librarian are eligible to receive the award. Recipients must have implemented their project in an academic or research library or through the aegis of a professional library organization no more than two years prior to the nomination submission deadline.

Application Instructions

Electronic submissions through the online nomination form are required. Nominations must include a description of the innovative project, a letter supporting the innovative project, and sufficient supporting documentation for the committee to understand the purpose, content, impact, and innovative aspects of the program. If possible, make the project available via the web.

Questions or requests for assistance in compiling a nomination should be directed to Pamela Pfeiffer, Wellesley College,

Contact Information

Displaying active committee roster as of 02/04/2023. Last retrieved on 02/04/2023. Members can log in and refresh page to view full contact information for committee members.

Selection Criteria

Projects nominated for the award should demonstrate recognized creativity, quality, and innovation within the context of national trends in information literacy instruction or programming.

Note: The Awards Committee uses a rubric to narrow the pool of nominations and to guide the committee’s conversation in deciding each year’s recipient. While rubric scores are not the deciding factors for selection, the committee advises you to use the rubric as a guide when submitting your nomination packet. You can view the rubric here.