Eliza Atkins Gleason Book Award

About the Eliza Atkins Gleason Book Award
The Eliza Atkins Gleason Book Award is presented by the Library History Round Table of the American Library Association every third year to recognize the best book written in English in the field of library history, including the history of libraries, librarianship, and book culture. It will next be awarded in January of 2010.

Administered by:

Library History Round Table logo

Award and Frequency

Certificates honoring the author and publisher of the Gleason Book Award winner

This award is given out on a biennial basis.


Entries for each triennial award must have been published between January 1 and December 31 of the three years preceding the award year. Bibliographies and edited collections will not be considered. 

Application Instructions

Nominations are welcome from all interested parties and should include a) 1 copy of the nominated volume and b) a brief statement explaining why the book is worthy of consideration for the Gleason Book Award. Nominations - received by Friday, January 16, 2016 - should be sent to:


Applications must be received by Friday, January 16, 2016.  Receipt will be confirmed within 3 business days.

Contact Information

Displaying active committee roster as of 03/24/2023. Last retrieved on 03/24/2023. Members can log in and refresh page to view full contact information for committee members.

Selection Criteria

Entries are judged on quality of scholarship, clarity of style, depth of research, and ability to place research findings in a broad social, cultural, and political context. One award will be given every third year. If a suitable candidate is not found, the award will not be presented for that three-year cycle.


The winner will be announced in a press release on or about June 1st of the award year. Certificates will be presented at a Library History Round Table awards ceremony during the American Library Association Annual Conference in the year of the award.